Alan Goodenow Memorial Award – Past Winners

2002 – 2013 Alan Goodenow Memorial Award Winners

The Alan Goodenow Memorial Award for Citizen of the Year was established in 2002.

Here are past winners from 2002 – 2013 …

2013 Fred Heller (awarded in 2014)
2012 Susan & Mark Hansen (awarded in 2013)
2011 Kevin Carlson (awarded in 2012)
2010 Trisha Morris-Kopinski (awarded in 2011)
2009 Jim Rutowski (awarded in 2010)
2008 Larry Applebey (awarded in 2009)
2007 Christine & Steve Gerasimchik (awarded in 2008)
2006 Judi Laird (awarded in 2007)
2005 Howard Miller (awarded in 2006)
2004 Alan Goodenow (awarded in 2005)
2003 Elizur Webster (awarded in 2004)
2002 Janet Layman (awarded in 2003)
2001 Suzanne Coogan (awarded in 2002)

About the Alan Goodenow Memorial Award …

In a ceremony on March 31, 2005 the Citizen of the Year Award was renamed the Alan Goodenow Award for Outstanding Service to the Community to honor Mr. Goodenow for enriching the lives of so many Warsaw residents.

In addition to his job at Primerica Financial Services, Mr. Goodenow was a dedicated coach for Warsaw’s soccer and wrestling teams. He was an active member of the Warsaw Chamber of Commerce’s Board of Directors and was especially involved in organizing the annual Oktoberfest that was a favorite Chamber event for many years. He had served in the US Army in Germany and was in the National Guard from 1981-2000. He was a devoted husband; his widow, Charlotte Goodenow, accepted that award on his behalf and shared with those assembled that “Al was able to see great things in people. He was always able to see potential, even when you couldn’t.”

This award is given annually to a Warsaw area citizen who has shown outstanding commitment and service to the Warsaw community.

how can we help you?

Contact us at the Greater Warsaw Chamber of commerce or submit a business inquiry online.